DKIM is in DNS but doesn't show for any tools, including dig

Questions regarding the Mail Server
Dovecot, Exim, RoundCube
retronoodle
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:08 pm

DKIM is in DNS but doesn't show for any tools, including dig

Postby retronoodle » Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:55 am

Code: Select all

dig -t txt mail._domainkey.mydomain.com


doesn't show my DKIM record - nor do any of the online tests.

It is clearly in the Vesta CP, however.

I have read most of the threads in this forum and have not been able to solve the issue.

Any help?

Thank you!

retronoodle
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: DKIM is in DNS but doesn't show for any tools, including dig

Postby retronoodle » Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:32 pm

I have been checking all the online tools, and I get replies like this:

We were not able to retrieve your public key.
Please ensure that you inserted your DKIM TXT DNS record on your domain mydomain.com using the selector mail.
If you recently modified your DNS, please be patient and test again your Newsletter in 12 hours, it may take some time for the DNS to be propagated


It really feels like dns is not getting reported. Does anyone know how to dig for ALL TXT records?

retronoodle
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: DKIM is in DNS but doesn't show for any tools, including dig

Postby retronoodle » Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:34 pm

Ok, I did a lookup of all TXT records here.

https://mxtoolbox.com/TXTLookup.aspx

It shows the spf but not the DKIM. Something is up with the way Vesta is handling these. It's not a matter of the record being incorrect, it's a matter of the record missing. But according to vesta it is there.

It's driving me crazy! Any help would be so much appreciated.

Thanks,
Tim

retronoodle
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: DKIM is in DNS but doesn't show for any tools, including dig

Postby retronoodle » Mon Jan 02, 2017 7:25 pm

It also looks like Vesta is generating DKIM without

Code: Select all

v=DKIM1;


Is this ok?

retronoodle
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 8:08 pm

[SOLVED - kinda] Re: DKIM is in DNS but doesn't show for any tools, including dig

Postby retronoodle » Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:04 pm

It started working when I added a . to the record after the domain name.

It may be something that VestaCP staff may want to add in there too, because Vesta doesn't seem to do that. Also adding in the DKIM1 like I mentioned above might be helpful.

Code: Select all

mail._domainkey.mydomain.com.
<--- the dot

Hope this helps someone else, at least.

Thanks

bhc
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:31 pm

Re: DKIM is in DNS but doesn't show for any tools, including dig

Postby bhc » Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:01 pm

How do you add a . the record after the domain name?

edit: I just edited the dns/db file and restarted bind..

Is this a known bug?

cottager
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:10 pm

Re: DKIM is in DNS but doesn't show for any tools, including dig

Postby cottager » Sat May 06, 2017 4:04 pm

Not sure if it's related, but if you check dkim off and back on again, the DNS entry gets malformed for mail._domainkey for that domain. You could select the content for it and copy/save it somewhere, then delete the mail._domainkey record in your DNS and recreate it and paste in the content you already copied/saved.

What happens when you check dkim off and on again is the dns record gets created as mail._domainkey.domain.com.domain.com, when it should be mail._domainkey.domain.com

more info here viewtopic.php?f=13&t=13533


Return to “Mail Server”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests