Nameservers aren't responding

Questions regarding the DNS Server
BIND
nlcruise
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 12:54 pm

Nameservers aren't responding

Postby nlcruise » Thu Nov 02, 2017 1:11 pm

Hello,

Firstly, I wanna thank the creator(s) of Vesta CP for the nice control panel.
I've got a problem: according to multiple DNS websites, my nameservers aren't responding.
I installed Vesta CP in a virtual machine on Ubuntu 16.04 32-bits, because it's only meant for testing.
The virtual machine is attached to a physical network adapter, which is connected to my home NAT-network (I opened port 80, 443 and 53 (both TCP as UDP) on the router).
The servers' hostname is

Code: Select all

server.mydomainserver.tk

I registered two free domains on Freenom (.tk-domains),

Code: Select all

mydomainserver.tk
and

Code: Select all

mydomaintest.tk

The nameservers of

Code: Select all

mydomainserver.tk
are the default ones of Freenom and there are A-records for ns1 and ns2 (both pointing to my IP).
The nameservesr of mydomaintest.tk are

Code: Select all

ns1.mydomainserver.tk
and

Code: Select all

ns2.mydomainserver.tk


I've added the web domain

Code: Select all

mydomainserver.tk
and

Code: Select all

mydomaintest.tk
in Vesta. The DNS-template of the first domain is set to child-ns and the nameservers of the package 'default' are set to

Code: Select all

ns1.mydomainserver.tk
and

Code: Select all

ns2.mydomainserver.tk
The SOA-field contains my first nameserver and A-records are set to my nameservers.

After running the VM for a couple of hours, it still isn't working. I can reach it if I set the server IP-address (the public address) as my primary DNS-server on a client, otherwise not. Websites like leafdns.com and mxtoolbox.com are reporting that the nameservers are configured for the domain, but that they aren't responding.

Can someone help me, please?

Thanks in advance!

nlcruise

24x7servermanagement
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2017 6:22 am

Re: Nameservers aren't responding

Postby 24x7servermanagement » Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:39 am

You have added A record for ns1 and ns2 to at server level, but did you registered those namesevers with registrar?

nlcruise
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 12:54 pm

Re: Nameservers aren't responding

Postby nlcruise » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:45 am

Thanks for your response!

Yes, they are also registered at the registrar.


Return to “DNS Server”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron