Page 1 of 1

CNAME Record Problem (showing server default page)

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:56 pm
by openVZvsKVM
Hi Friends,
I have Centos 7 VPS with Vestacp. Everything Working Perfect But When i am trying to create CNAME Record for example "Linux.mydomain.com" to "mydomain.com" and When i am visit website "Linux.mydomain.com" it should display "mydomain.com" but it display me VPS's defaul IP Page. How i can fix it? i want display main website at subdomain via CNAME Record.

Re: CNAME Record Problem (showing server default page)

Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:28 am
by sysdop
openVZvsKVM wrote:Hi Friends,
I have Centos 7 VPS with Vestacp. Everything Working Perfect But When i am trying to create CNAME Record for example "Linux.mydomain.com" to "mydomain.com" and When i am visit website "Linux.mydomain.com" it should display "mydomain.com" but it display me VPS's defaul IP Page. How i can fix it? i want display main website at subdomain via CNAME Record.


@openVZvsKVM The default page can be deleted since it is a simple index.html, it is usually located in the admin user in the web folder according to the hostname of the affected server or domain.

Try connecting by ssh or FTP console to go to your destination.

Re: CNAME Record Problem (showing server default page)

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 4:57 am
by openVZvsKVM
sysdop wrote:
openVZvsKVM wrote:Hi Friends,
I have Centos 7 VPS with Vestacp. Everything Working Perfect But When i am trying to create CNAME Record for example "Linux.mydomain.com" to "mydomain.com" and When i am visit website "Linux.mydomain.com" it should display "mydomain.com" but it display me VPS's defaul IP Page. How i can fix it? i want display main website at subdomain via CNAME Record.


@openVZvsKVM The default page can be deleted since it is a simple index.html, it is usually located in the admin user in the web folder according to the hostname of the affected server or domain.

Try connecting by ssh or FTP console to go to your destination.



Friend Thanks for reply! My Problem is -> I have add new domain "domain.com" and i want add display website as my subdomain "subdomain.domain.com -> domain2.com" via CName Record. When i am trying to create CName reocrd in "domain.com" it is not display me "domain2.com" at "mysubdomain.com" it is display me server hostname index. I hope now you will understand!

Re: CNAME Record Problem (showing server default page)

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 1:25 pm
by vanderheyde
openVZvsKVM wrote:
sysdop wrote:
openVZvsKVM wrote:Hi Friends,
I have Centos 7 VPS with Vestacp. Everything Working Perfect But When i am trying to create CNAME Record for example "Linux.mydomain.com" to "mydomain.com" and When i am visit website "Linux.mydomain.com" it should display "mydomain.com" but it display me VPS's defaul IP Page. How i can fix it? i want display main website at subdomain via CNAME Record.


@openVZvsKVM The default page can be deleted since it is a simple index.html, it is usually located in the admin user in the web folder according to the hostname of the affected server or domain.

Try connecting by ssh or FTP console to go to your destination.



Friend Thanks for reply! My Problem is -> I have add new domain "domain.com" and i want add display website as my subdomain "subdomain.domain.com -> domain2.com" via CName Record. When i am trying to create CName reocrd in "domain.com" it is not display me "domain2.com" at "mysubdomain.com" it is display me server hostname index. I hope now you will understand!


If I understand correctly, this is your setup:

Domain example.com:
@ A 1.1.1.1
sub CNAME example2.com.

Domain example2.com:
@ A 1.1.1.1

However, sub.example.com is showing the content of example.com instead example2.com?

If you browse directly to example2.com, do you get the correct content?

Re: CNAME Record Problem (showing server default page)

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:30 pm
by openVZvsKVM
Image

it Should be display Anotherdomain.com at static.example.com right?
But when i visit static.example.com it display me example.com Server Default Page not Anotherdomain.com

Re: CNAME Record Problem (showing server default page)

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:01 pm
by vanderheyde
That's an odd one...

and what happens if you browse directly to anotherdomain.com? Is anotherdomain.com located on the same vestacp?

Re: CNAME Record Problem (showing server default page)

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:50 pm
by openVZvsKVM
anotherdomain.com is working fine and yes it is hosted in same vps.
one more example is i want display main website at subdomain via Cname record. example.com at subdomain.example.com via CNAME record.
But When i am trying it is not show me example.com or anotherdomain.com via cName it just show me Server defult page at CNAME record.