We are starting CHRISTMAS Sale. Get 30% OFF on lifetime licenses with code: FYSKK72

Outdated Apache on Vesta? Topic is solved

General questions about VestaCP
Trentor
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:42 pm

Outdated Apache on Vesta?

Postby Trentor » Sat Jan 28, 2017 6:12 pm

Hi all.

Please, could someone involved in VestaCP development say something about this: VestaCP ouch no HTTP/2 and outdated Apache

The ALPN support, it's ok, no problem with that (CentOS problem), but why is VestaCP using an outdated version of Apache?

Thanks!!

vikhyat
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:39 pm

Re: Outdated Apache on Vesta?

Postby vikhyat » Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:22 pm

Which version of CentOS are you using? And is it a modified version provided by your server provide because I think VestaCP uses the default Apache of the OS (CentOS)

mike08
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:12 am
Location: San Salvador, El Salvador

Re: Outdated Apache on Vesta?  Topic is solved

Postby mike08 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:11 pm

vikhyat wrote:Which version of CentOS are you using? And is it a modified version provided by your server provide because I think VestaCP uses the default Apache of the OS (CentOS)


That is correct, the installer script works with the packages your OS has, you might probably want to update your repositories before running the install script.

mehargags
Moderators
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 9:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Outdated Apache on Vesta?

Postby mehargags » Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:30 pm

You can always update Apache afterwards from a different Repo... even after install.

xjlin0
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Outdated Apache on Vesta?

Postby xjlin0 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:21 pm

It depends on your OS of choice. I am using Debian 8.6 and can upgrade to Apache 2.4.25 and openssl 1.0.1t without problems by testing repo, you can upgrade to openssl 1.0.2j or 1.1.0+ if you like. Have you checked the following topic?
viewtopic.php?f=20&t=12522

skurudo
VestaCP Team
Posts: 7807
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:23 pm
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Outdated Apache on Vesta?

Postby skurudo » Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:05 pm

Trentor wrote:but why is VestaCP using an outdated version of Apache?


Why OS repo by default have so old and stable soft? Why!! ;-)
-> DigitalOcean competition - please, support us
-> fix for phpmyadmin - nice and sweet now

mehargags
Moderators
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 9:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Outdated Apache on Vesta?

Postby mehargags » Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:58 pm

The uninformed and novice users just pop over to forums and start bashing "Why Vesta is using OLD versions of Apache, Nginx, PHP or MySQL... while completely failing to understand it is not VestaCP which "installs software", it merely issues commands "apt-get" or "yum install" and the version of software is "pulled" from the repo whatever is registered and marked in the operating system's maintenance Repository.

If the software in that OS Repo is outdated, its not VestaCP's fault. This can be overcome easily by including/forcing newer repos and pulling/upgrading newer software pkgs from them.

I hope it makes it a bit clear.

newtron
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 4:43 pm

Re: Outdated Apache on Vesta?

Postby newtron » Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:07 pm

One more thing...

Updated to the top version != Better

P.D. I got a tons of headaches after upgrade Exim ... bad idea :(

GL9
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:02 pm

Re: Outdated Apache on Vesta?

Postby GL9 » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:08 pm

Re-read https://community.centminmod.com/thread ... che.10114/ and then it's quite easy to check if your Apache version date using command

Code: Select all

httpd -V


check the server built date

check whether VestaCP uses CentOS or own VestaCP yum repo for Apache

Code: Select all

yum list installed httpd


check Apache rpm's change log history

Code: Select all

 rpm -qa --changelog httpd | head -n 10


compare it to



Return to “General Discussion”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests