Page 1 of 1

Upgrade to php 5.6

Posted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 5:25 pm
by robindirksen
I follow this tutorial and when this works for me on vestacp 6.5 and 7.
http://blog.hazaveh.net/2016/02/upgradi ... -vesta-cp/




Yesterday I was told to set up a new php server in company for some small project. I did not really want to set everything up manually as the person who will be using this server is not geeky. So by looking around I came to find Vesta Control Panel aka VestaCP. it sounds lightweight and promising considering its a free tool. well of course it is so simple and it can never be compared to things like cPanel, but for this kind of setup it seems to be good.

The only con about this panel is the file manager. basically there is no file manager and if you want to have it you got to pay. but who cares. we can always use FTP.

One issue is that the current version of vestacp installs php 5.4 by default which is too out dated for our current apps. most of the new CMSes and Frameworks such as Laravel require php >= 5.5. So what I had to do was to upgrade the PHP version to 5.6 from 5.4.

In this particular case I’m running CentOS 7.

By default php 5.6 is not in the repository of cent os and you need to be adding some repo like epel or remi. Vesta will bring remi repository for you.

to upgrade all installed php tools on your server from 5.4 to 5.6 run following command:


yum --enablerepo=remi-php56 upgrade php-mysql php-devel php-gd php-pecl-memcache php-xmlrpc php-pspell php-snmp
If you found that you do not have remi repo on your machine you can get it from links below depending on the cent os version you are using:

Remi For CentOs 5 http://rpms.famillecollet.com/enterpris ... ease-5.rpm
Remi For CentOs 6 http://rpms.famillecollet.com/enterpris ... ease-6.rpm
Remi For CentOs 7 http://rpms.famillecollet.com/enterpris ... ease-7.rpm

You can find other links to remi at here. http://rpms.famillecollet.com/

Hope this helps.

Re: Upgrade to php 5.6

Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:28 pm
by leisegang
Look at this. Its easy and works well:
http://forum.vestacp.com/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=10854

Re: Upgrade to php 5.6

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:16 am
by kaavain
Great, it works. But PHP will be without OPCache, and it would be great to have imagic as well... Does anybody knows how to add opcache to existing php?

Re: Upgrade to php 5.6

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 11:51 am
by skurudo
kaavain wrote:Great, it works. But PHP will be without OPCache, and it would be great to have imagic as well... Does anybody knows how to add opcache to existing php?
Like this https://webtatic.com/packages/php56/
Try a little ;;;-)

Re: Upgrade to php 5.6

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:02 pm
by mehargags
and you can install LXDE min. GUI with Tight VNC Server... will work 10 times better than any file manager

Re: Upgrade to php 5.6

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 2:35 pm
by Felix
skurudo wrote: Like this https://webtatic.com/packages/php56/
Try a little ;;;-)
skurudo I've seen this guide and I'm interested in trying it, but I'd like to ask if this might break anything in VestaCP. I'm worried about Web and Proxy templates of VestaCP.

Re: Upgrade to php 5.6

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:53 pm
by mehargags
@Felix
You should be safe 99% upgrading PHP or MySQL on any OS.
As you may think VestaCP depends on php, it uses its own core PHP and is not dependent on the global PHP parser(s) installed from webservers.

You should be good to upgrade, its a pretty safe affair.

Re: Upgrade to php 5.6

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:42 am
by KhaoMaNee
-posted wrong thread-

Re: Upgrade to php 5.6

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:03 pm
by mehargags
KhaoMaNee wrote:Check this too viewtopic.php?p=50895#p50895 Skurudo provided this guide. I just upgraded yesterday to 5.7, it works but I did get a lot of "error : Table rebuild required. Please do "ALTER TABLE" after running the last command. If anyone can share what is this and howo would they fix it quickly, please share.
@KhaoMaNee,
The OP is refering to PHP 5.6 upgrade, not MySQL. Please do not confuse the topics