(Jan 22) Release 0.9.8-19 with bug fixes available now. Run this command for update v-update-sys-vesta-all

HowTO: ServerName globally Topic is solved

Questions regarding the Web Server
Apache + Nginx, Nginx + PHP5-FPM
Forum rules
Before creating a new topic or reply on the forum you should fill out additional fields "Os" and "Web" in your profile section.
In case of violation, the topic can be closed or response from the support will not be received.
BBuchanan1013
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:01 am

HowTO: ServerName globally  Topic is solved

Postby BBuchanan1013 » Thu Sep 29, 2016 6:15 am

For those that have ubuntu + apache and get the wonderful warning:

Code: Select all

AH00558: apache2: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using (your hostname). Set the 'ServerName' directive globally to suppress this message


What I did was to create a global file to suppress it instead of trying to determine the actual file that directive was in.

Code: Select all

nano /etc/apache2/conf.d/fqdn.conf


Set the servername to yours replacing localhost

Code: Select all

ServerName localhost


Ctrl + x
y
enter
restart apache

joem
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:33 am
Contact:

Re: HowTO: ServerName globally

Postby joem » Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:43 am

BBuchanan1013 wrote:For those that have ubuntu + apache and get the wonderful warning:

Code: Select all

AH00558: apache2: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using (your hostname). Set the 'ServerName' directive globally to suppress this message


What I did was to create a global file to suppress it instead of trying to determine the actual file that directive was in.

Code: Select all

nano /etc/apache2/conf.d/fqdn.conf


Set the servername to yours replacing localhost

Code: Select all

ServerName localhost


Ctrl + x
y
enter
restart apache


This issue also happens in centos7 the location is different though /etc/httpd/conf.d/fqdn.conf. @BBuchanan1013 did you make a pull request for this?

Centos7

Code: Select all

echo "ServerName localhost" >> /etc/httpd/conf.d/fqdn.conf

BBuchanan1013
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:01 am

Re: HowTO: ServerName globally

Postby BBuchanan1013 » Sun May 14, 2017 2:37 pm

joem wrote:
BBuchanan1013 wrote:For those that have ubuntu + apache and get the wonderful warning:

Code: Select all

AH00558: apache2: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using (your hostname). Set the 'ServerName' directive globally to suppress this message


What I did was to create a global file to suppress it instead of trying to determine the actual file that directive was in.

Code: Select all

nano /etc/apache2/conf.d/fqdn.conf


Set the servername to yours replacing localhost

Code: Select all

ServerName localhost


Ctrl + x
y
enter
restart apache


This issue also happens in centos7 the location is different though /etc/httpd/conf.d/fqdn.conf. @BBuchanan1013 did you make a pull request for this?

Centos7

Code: Select all

echo "ServerName localhost" >> /etc/httpd/conf.d/fqdn.conf


Your right, I see instead of apache2;

Code: Select all

/etc/httpd/conf.d/


otherwise the rest should work. Any .conf in the conf.d folder will be picked up by apache when it starts.

mariad
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 5:34 am

Re: HowTO: ServerName globally

Postby mariad » Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:53 am

Welcome to the community, hope you got what you wanted.


Return to “Web Server”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron