Page 1 of 1

Disable backup just for one site?

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 7:28 am
by youradds
Hi,

Is it possible to disable the backup ONLY for one user/domain? We have a large domain that makes the server slow right down at night when its running. I have a custom backup script I wrote for another server, and this works well (but its only good for the domain in question). Can I disable backups just for 1 site?

Cheers

Andy

Re: Disable backup just for one site?

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:02 pm
by mehargags
yes check Backup-->>Exclusions

Re: Disable backup just for one site?

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:05 pm
by youradds
mehargags wrote:yes check Backup-->>Exclusions
Awesome thanks - exactly what I was looking for :)

Cheers

Andy

Re: Disable backup just for one site?

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 5:04 pm
by youradds
mehargags wrote:yes check Backup-->>Exclusions
Hi,

Is this feature confirmed as working? In "Web Domains" I have:

Code: Select all

chambresdhotesfrance.com:public_html,cgi-bin
...and yet when I do the backup, both of those folders are included? The tar I see running is:

Code: Select all

 tar -cpf- cgi-bin compiler document_errors logs private public_html public_shtml startup.pl stats --exclude=logs/*
Thanks

Andy

Re: Disable backup just for one site?

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 7:51 pm
by mehargags
I was about to write that... to test if this works exactly as intended.
Sadly, I have seen this behaviour too... the excluded folders still get backed up by the backup routine
I think there is already a thread viewtopic.php?t=9515
May be you can get some pointers ?

more here https://www.google.com/search?q=vestacp ... exclusions

Re: Disable backup just for one site?

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:38 pm
by youradds
Thanks. I'm a bit confused about this one.

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/sergh ... ackup-user

Code: Select all

if [ -e "$USER_DATA/backup-excludes.conf" ]; then
    echo -e "$(date "+%F %T") backup-excludes.conf"
    msg="$msg\n$(date "+%F %T") backup-excludes.conf"
    cp -r $USER_DATA/backup-excludes.conf $tmpdir/vesta/
fi
I did:
updatedb
locate backup-excludes.conf
...but I get no results. Unfortunately I don't really know how to "read" and tweak that script very well, as I'm not great with Bash (I can do basics, but this is out of my area of expertise =))

Cheers

Andy

Re: Disable backup just for one site?

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:51 pm
by mehargags
How many sites do you have actually?
If not too many, may be have each user backup individually and then you can leave this site out and have it backup with special script ?

Re: Disable backup just for one site?

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm
by youradds
mehargags wrote:How many sites do you have actually?
If not too many, may be have each user backup individually and then you can leave this site out and have it backup with special script ?
Quite a few - probably 20 odd. Just 1 domain on this user.

I'm not too sure what you are suggesting though?