Bug found in Vesta!

Questions regarding the Database Server
MySQL, PostgreSQL, MariaDB, Percona Server, phpMyAdmin, phpPgAdmin
mrvic
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 5:45 pm

Bug found in Vesta!

Postby mrvic » Wed Jul 19, 2017 6:24 pm

We are a starting web hosting company. We are testing Vesta and have found what is obviously a bug in your control panel. This my not be the most appropriate place to report it, but I could not find a proper place in your forums, so I picked what I thought was the best place. If I choose wrong, I am sorry.

You see, one of our domains is shoppingonlinepy.com. Vesta automatically assigns it the prefix "shoppingonlinepy_" for all databases names and users.

The problem is that the assigned prefix is already longer than 16 characters (17 in this case, which just for 1 character names makes it 18 characters long), so MySQL keeps on rejecting it.

I know it is a MySQL bug really, but you could as a workaround provide an editable prefix... That can only be edited when the user has no databases or users.

On this same note, another case in which such a prefix would be useful is when you own different domains, say "shoppingonlinepy.com" and "shoppingonlinepy.net". What would the database prefix be in these cases? Note that I have not tested this, but the exact same solution could apply.

As a work around, I have created my users using phpMyAdmin, logged in as the root MySQL user. So I am not in any sort of hurry... But by doing so, I have extracted the domain's database component from Vesta's control. So it would be nice if you provide a fix.

skurudo
VestaCP Team
Posts: 7798
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:23 pm
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Bug found in Vesta!

Postby skurudo » Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:52 pm

Thanks for using Vesta ;-)

mrvic wrote:The problem is that the assigned prefix is already longer than 16 characters (17 in this case, which just for 1 character names makes it 18 characters long), so MySQL keeps on rejecting it.
...
On this same note, another case in which such a prefix would be useful is when you own different domains, say "shoppingonlinepy.com" and "shoppingonlinepy.net". What would the database prefix be in these cases? Note that I have not tested this, but the exact same solution could apply.


Yep, there is -> https://bugs.vestacp.com/issues/258
and russian - up to 32 char in name with mysql 5.7 - https://bugs.vestacp.com/issues/564

mrvic wrote:As a work around, I have created my users using phpMyAdmin, logged in as the root MySQL user. So I am not in any sort of hurry... But by doing so, I have extracted the domain's database component from Vesta's control.


Why it's so bad? You have a choice what and how you can do.

mrvic wrote:So it would be nice if you provide a fix.


Do you have any suggestion?
-> DigitalOcean competition - please, support us
-> fix for phpmyadmin - nice and sweet now

mehargags
Moderators
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 9:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug found in Vesta!

Postby mehargags » Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:29 pm

the prefix Vesta Chooses is not from the domain name but from the vesta "username" under which the domain is being hosted. So to avoid the 16 char limit you should create your VestaCP user with short length. For Eg: shponpy


Return to “Database Server”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron