Page 2 of 5

Re: Custom Front End Interface

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:17 am
by Ris
I tried to install this interface with all three methods described here: https://github.com/cdgco/VestaWebInterface/wiki/Install
But I had no success.

Method 1.
Run the command bash <(curl -s https://cdgco.github.io/full) while inside of the desired web directory on the VestaCP machine.
What is the "desired web directory"?
I create new folder /user/local/vesta/web/vwi and tried to install from there.
SpoilerShow

Code: Select all

[root@localhost vwi]# bash <(curl -s https://cdgco.github.io/full)
Checking for required packages ...
wget found
tar found
git found

Installing Vesta Web Interface frontend ...
Installing Vesta Web Interface backend ...
Enter the full web address of your installation: /usr/local/vesta/web/vwi

Installation Complete! Please visit your website online to finish configuration.
[root@localhost vwi]#
I went no http://my_site:8083/vwi, complete installation and have the message:
Internal vesta error

Try start again from home page or go back to previous page
Method 2.
Also have the message:
Internal vesta error

Try start again from home page or go back to previous page
Method 3.
Copy the contents of the 'install/web' folder in the release to the '/usr/local/vesta/web' directory of your vesta server.
But the 'install/web' folder is missing.

This instruction does not work anywhere.

Re: Custom Front End Interface

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:28 am
by buracat
I didn't install
can you make a video narration?

Re: Custom Front End Interface

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:45 pm
by cdg
Ris wrote:I tried to install this interface with all three methods described here: https://github.com/cdgco/VestaWebInterface/wiki/Install
But I had no success.

Method 1.
Run the command bash <(curl -s https://cdgco.github.io/full) while inside of the desired web directory on the VestaCP machine.
What is the "desired web directory"?
I create new folder /user/local/vesta/web/vwi and tried to install from there.
SpoilerShow

Code: Select all

[root@localhost vwi]# bash <(curl -s https://cdgco.github.io/full)
Checking for required packages ...
wget found
tar found
git found

Installing Vesta Web Interface frontend ...
Installing Vesta Web Interface backend ...
Enter the full web address of your installation: /usr/local/vesta/web/vwi

Installation Complete! Please visit your website online to finish configuration.
[root@localhost vwi]#
I went no http://my_site:8083/vwi, complete installation and have the message:
Internal vesta error

Try start again from home page or go back to previous page
Method 2.
Also have the message:
Internal vesta error

Try start again from home page or go back to previous page
Method 3.
Copy the contents of the 'install/web' folder in the release to the '/usr/local/vesta/web' directory of your vesta server.
But the 'install/web' folder is missing.

This instruction does not work anywhere.
The VWI system currently only allows installations as new domains, subdomains or subdirectories of existing domains.
To install, you must create a new directory or domain through the pre-existing VestaCP interface then run the install command while in the /home/admin/web/DOMAIN.TLD/public_html/.

I may add support for installs in the :8083 directory, but that is not planned at the moment.
buracat wrote:I didn't install
can you make a video narration?
I understand that the current installation method is confusing and I am working on better documentation and an installation tutorial. I'll see if I have time to release it later tonight.

Re: Custom Front End Interface

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:47 am
by superstar
When go to profile.php?settings=open and change first name or last name or anything .. the password is auto changed to blank :D
i change alot things in profile.php and added new file to direction .. process/passchange.php
not change any coding .. just added new file direction ( no more change blank password unless you don't change the password )

https://pastebin.com/KpyPxv8g ( here changed profile.php )
https://pastebin.com/0tvjq52z ( here passchange.php .. need to upload to process file direction )

Thanks you
sorry for my bad english

Re: Custom Front End Interface

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:30 pm
by moh3n
it is very charming!
nice job
when to release stable version?

Re: Custom Front End Interface

Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:02 pm
by cdg
superstar wrote:When go to profile.php?settings=open and change first name or last name or anything .. the password is auto changed to blank
I don't understand your problem with the system.

The password box is not to verify the changes to the profile, but to change he password itself.

Furthermore, the password change function works properly but due to the fact that it is encrypted and I am not able or willing to show the password in plain text.

I'll take a look at your edits but i'm not sure if they are necessary.
moh3n wrote:it is very charming!
nice job
when to release stable version?
Thank you!

I'm in school and just finished midterms so I have some time to work on the project again now.
I'm going to try and put in some work over the next few days and hopefully release v0.4 this week.
I can't really promise a 'stable' version for a while due to the necessity of new features and an installation process that all users can understand and do easily.

I am trying to make each release as stable as possible before publication but it all comes down to the enduser and reporting of bugs, so if you have any problems, please let me know!

Re: Custom Front End Interface

Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 3:17 am
by cdg
I'm still working on the tutorial videos, but in the meantime, I created more detailed documentation.

https://cdgtech.one/vwi/docs.php

Hopefully this helps clear up some of the confusion about installation.

Re: Custom Front End Interface

Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 2:11 pm
by superstar
cdg wrote:
superstar wrote:When go to profile.php?settings=open and change first name or last name or anything .. the password is auto changed to blank
I don't understand your problem with the system.

The password box is not to verify the changes to the profile, but to change he password itself.

Furthermore, the password change function works properly but due to the fact that it is encrypted and I am not able or willing to show the password in plain text.

I'll take a look at your edits but i'm not sure if they are necessary.
moh3n wrote:it is very charming!
nice job
when to release stable version?
Thank you!

I'm in school and just finished midterms so I have some time to work on the project again now.
I'm going to try and put in some work over the next few days and hopefully release v0.4 this week.
I can't really promise a 'stable' version for a while due to the necessity of new features and an installation process that all users can understand and do easily.

I am trying to make each release as stable as possible before publication but it all comes down to the enduser and reporting of bugs, so if you have any problems, please let me know!
Forget about my edition ..

Change only First (or) Last name (or) did't change anything and click ( Update Profile ) button .. the password is automatic changed to blank
( process/updatesetting.php )

Code: Select all

if(isset($password)){

this line i changed with

Code: Select all

if($password != ''){
and everything fine now :D ..

PS . this errors in v0.3.1 :D

Re: Custom Front End Interface

Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:18 pm
by cdg
superstar wrote: the password is automatic changed to blank
( process/updatesetting.php )
if(isset($password)){ <== this line i changed with
if($password != $_POST['password']){
and everything fine now :D ..

PS . this errors in v0.3.1 :D
I think you are still misunderstanding the code. The password is always blank, as a security measure, and the change

Code: Select all

if($password != $_POST['password'])

makes no sense because

Code: Select all

$password

was previously defined in the file to be the same as

Code: Select all

$_POST['password']
therefore that statement will never be true and the password can never be changed.

The current system is setup so that if the user enters the anything in the password box, it will change the password to that value, and the password box will go back to blank after it is set. Your changes would break the code and as far as I can see there is no real problem here.

Also in the future if there is a real problem, submit code changes to GitHub rather than the forum.

Re: Custom Front End Interface

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:38 am
by superstar
cdg wrote:
superstar wrote: the password is automatic changed to blank
( process/updatesetting.php )
if(isset($password)){ <== this line i changed with
if($password != $_POST['password']){
and everything fine now :D ..

PS . this errors in v0.3.1 :D
I think you are still misunderstanding the code. The password is always blank, as a security measure, and the change

Code: Select all

if($password != $_POST['password'])

makes no sense because

Code: Select all

$password

was previously defined in the file to be the same as

Code: Select all

$_POST['password']
therefore that statement will never be true and the password can never be changed.

The current system is setup so that if the user enters the anything in the password box, it will change the password to that value, and the password box will go back to blank after it is set. Your changes would break the code and as far as I can see there is no real problem here.

Also in the future if there is a real problem, submit code changes to GitHub rather than the forum.
i think still you don't understand what i said ! i don't say about password box is blank .. i know the password box is blank for account security .. i mean when you change first name (or) last name (or) did't change anything and just click ( Update Profile ) the panel password was auto changed to blank (or) something .. and can't be login to panel with yours password ..
current password auto changed without enter any password in password box ..
I suggest .. u should try first with urs v0.3.1 .. go to account setting and just click ( Update profile ) .. then logout and try to login with urs password
you will see the password was wrong
Again .. pls try first with v0.3.1 .. v0.3 are fine just issue in v0.3.1

Code: Select all

if (isset($password)){
i changed with this code and system work fine now

Code: Select all

if($password != ''){
Note.. i like urs project . that why just search the bugs

Thanks you