We are starting CHRISTMAS Sale. Get 30% OFF on lifetime licenses with code: FYSKK72

Domain Propagation

General questions about VestaCP
sirpros
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 8:29 am

Domain Propagation

Postby sirpros » Mon Oct 21, 2013 8:36 am

Hello,
I just installed Vesta Cpanel and I got the first domain to point to the IP address.
However domains created on other accounts don't seem to propagate.
I happen to have a vanity Name Server setup using the first domain name on Digital Ocean

ns1.firstdomain.com
ns2.firstdomain.com

I want to be able to point new domains to these name servers to propagate to their Vesta Cpanel accounts.

An example would be,
1. I go to godaddy, register a domain e.g. trippled.com
On godaddy I point trippled.com's dns information as
ns1.firstdomain.com,
ns2.firstdomain.com

2. I go to my Vesta Cpanel and Create an account: TrippleDee
Log on as TrippleDee and add a domain trippled.com
and when visitors type in trippled.com they get to that site hosted on the VestaCpanel account.

Please can you explain how this can be achieved ?

skid
VestaCP Team
Posts: 1469
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:12 pm

Re: Domain Propagation

Postby skid » Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:36 am

Log in to your godaddy account manager and register two host records for firstdomain.com
ns1 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
ns2 yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy
where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx and yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy are ip address of your hosting server. It is not necessary to have 2 different ips you can use one for both records.
Read following manual for details: http://support.godaddy.com/help/article/668/registering-your-own-nameservershosts

Once this has been done, login to vesta control panel.
Add firstdomain.com with "DNS support" mark checked.
Go to DNS tab and click on "add record".

Add new record
Record: ns1
Type: A
IP or Value: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

and the second one
Record: ns1
Type: A
IP or Value: yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy

Now click on "Back" button and then click on "list records" under firstdomain.com
Find 2 NS records "ns1.localhost.ltd." and "ns2.localhost.ltd." Edit and replace them with "ns1.firstdomain.com." and "firstdomain.com." accordingly. Please make sure you put trailing dot in the end.

At this point dns setup for firstdomain.com is completed.

Go to USER tab and click on edit link to edit your user account settings. Set ns1.firstdomain.com and ns2.firstdomain.com as a "Default Name Servers" and click "Save". Congratulations, you are ready to go!


Let's see how to add second or third or any other domain.
1. Log in to your godaddy account manager.
2. Set ns1.firstdomain.com and ns2.firstdomain.com as name server
http://support.godaddy.com/help/article/664/setting-nameservers-for-your-domain-names

3. Open vesta control panel
4. Add domain with DNS support check mark selected.

That's it.

Arsenbenda
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 9:14 am

Re: Domain Propagation

Postby Arsenbenda » Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:27 am

Skid by following the steps described above it is unclear for me if have to leave blank the domain name and the dns records within DO panel or not...
Thank you

skid
VestaCP Team
Posts: 1469
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:12 pm

Re: Domain Propagation

Postby skid » Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:02 am

Arsenbenda, if vanity servers are pointed to your server then it's not necessary to register domains in DO panel.

okwme
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 7:03 pm

Re: Domain Propagation

Postby okwme » Wed Jan 22, 2014 7:37 pm

is this correct:
and the second one
Record: ns1
Type: A
IP or Value: yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy


or is it supposed to be

and the second one
Record: ns2
Type: A
IP or Value: yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy

masdedy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:22 pm
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Domain Propagation

Postby masdedy » Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:06 pm

thanks 4 ur share.
am glad to use it.
its work^_^

skurudo
VestaCP Team
Posts: 7807
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:23 pm
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Domain Propagation

Postby skurudo » Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:20 pm

Topic locked for archeology sake.


Return to “General Discussion”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests

cron